All government agencies and their activities are governed by legislation. The following statutes are administered by the Electoral Commission SA:

Electoral Act 1985
Expiation of Offences Act 1996
Constitution Act 1934
Local Government (Elections) Act 1999
Local Government Act 1999
City of Adelaide Act 1998

These statutes provide the requirements enabling the Electoral Commission SA to conduct all aspects of State general elections and by-elections, referendums, and Local Government periodic and supplementary elections.

In addition to these, the Electoral Commission SA conducts elections for many non government bodies on request. Elections for non government bodies are regulated by the relevant election rules contained in their Acts or constitutions (some of which are listed below).

Other Statutes
Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Lands Rights Act 1981
Superannuation Funds Management Corporation of South Australia Act 1995
Superannuation Act 1988
South Eastern Water Conservation and Drainage Act 1992
Architectural Practice Act 2009

Relevant Regulations
Electoral Regulations 2009
Expiation of Offences Regulations 2011
Local Government (Elections) Regulations 2010
City of Adelaide (Elections and Polls) Regulations 2010
Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Lands Rights Regulations 2010
Superannuation Funds Management Corporation of South Australia Regulations 2010
Superannuation Regulations 2001
Architectural Practice (Election) Regulations 2010

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact

Authorised by M.Sherry, Electoral Commissioner