There are 7 electorates within the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY) Lands from which a male and female member are elected as members of the APY executive board at general elections every 3 years.

The electorates, constituted of community groups within the APY Lands, are established under regulations made by the Governor following a recommendation from the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation.

The current electorates comprise the following community groups:

  1. Pipalyatjara and Kalka
  2. Kanypi, Nyapari, Angatja and Watarru
  3. Amata and Tjurma
  4. Kaltjiti, Irintata and Watinumma
  5. Pukatja, Yunyarinyi, Anilalya and Turkey Bore
  6. Mimili
  7. Iwantja, Amaruna, Railway Bore, Witjintitja and Wallatinna

Map of Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Lands (PDF 2.5 MB)

Review of electorates

The Electoral Commissioner for South Australia must review the electorates not later than 3 months prior to the APY executive board general elections in accordance with section 9(8) of the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Rights Act 1981.

A review must include consultation with Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara and the executive board and will normally commence a number of months before it must be completed to ensure that relevant persons have an opportunity to make submissions to the review.

Schedule of reviews

The first review under the responsibility of the commissioner must be completed 3 months prior to the conduct of the general elections that are to commence on 1 May 2020.

Details about the review process conducted by the commissioner are available through the relevant link below, including all material relating to the conduct of the review.

Review of APY Electorates for the 2020 General Election