2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


This large district is situated in the rural hinterland of eastern South Australia, with the state borders of New South Wales and Victoria forming its boundary to the east. It covers the Riverland region of the state, including the towns of Berri, Barmera, Loxton, Renmark and Waikerie.


Approximately 24,265.88 km2


Chaffey includes the Berri Barmera Council incorporating Barmera and Berri, Renmark Paringa Council incorporating Renmark, the District Council of Loxton Waikerie incorporating Kingston-on-Murray, Loxton and Waikerie and UIA Riverland. It also includes part of the Mid Murray Council incorporating Blanchetown, Cadell, Morgan, Sedan and Swan Reach, as well as parts of the Pastoral Unincorporated Area.

This list is indicative only.


The district was created at the 1936 redistribution of boundaries and first contested and represented in 1938.

Origin of the name

The district is named after the Canadian-born brothers George and William Chaffey who came to Australia in 1886 and developed irrigation colonies in South Australia and Victoria, including Renmark and Mildura. The Chaffey’s principles of irrigation engineering had far-reaching effects, allowing orchards, vineyards and vegetable crops to be grown in the River Murray area.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Chaffey gains part of Mid Murray Council incorporating the localities of Sedan, Swan Reach, Blanchetown, Morgan and Cadell. Chaffey also gains part of the Pastoral Unincorporated Area. Chaffey loses Southern Mallee District Council and the District Council of Karoonda East Murray. Chaffey also loses part of Mid Murray Council, including the locality of Purnong.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF 1.8 MB).

Representation and results

Members since introduction of single member representation in 1938
William MacGillivray IND 1938 - 1956
Harold W. King LCL 1956 – 1962
Arthur R. Curren ALP 1962 - 1968
Peter B. Arnold LCL 1968 - 1970
Arthur R. Curren ALP 1970 - 1973
Peter B. Arnold LCL/LIB 1973 – 1993
Kent A. Andrew LIB 1993 – 1997
Karlene A. Maywald NAT 1997 - 2010
Timothy J. Whetstone LIB 2010 – 

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results
2010 State Election results