2018-2022 electoral district map

Electoral District of Finniss map (PDF 933 KB) 

Features of the district


This district situated in the southern part of the state includes popular residential and holiday seaside towns along Encounter Bay, as well as Lake Alexandrina and the mouth of the Murray River.


Approximately 1,004 km2


Finniss includes the localities of Back Valley, Currency Creek, Encounter Bay, Finniss, Goolwa, Goolwa Beach, Goolwa North, Goolwa South, Hayborough, Hindmarsh Island, Hindmarsh Tiers, Hindmarsh Valley, Lower Inman Valley, McCracken, Middleton, Mosquito Hill, Mount Compass, Mount Observation, Mundoo Island, Nangkita, Port Eliot, Tooperang, Victor Harbor and Waitpinga. It also includes part of Inman Valley.

This list is indicative only.


The district was created at the 1991 redistribution of boundaries and first contested and represented in 1993.

Origin of the name

The district is named after Boyle Travers Finniss (1807-1893), who emigrated to South Australia in 1836 as one of Colonel Light’s surveyors. At various times he occupied the positions of Deputy Surveyor-General, Police Commissioner, Legislative Councillor, Colonial Secretary and in 1856 was chosen as the first Chief Secretary and then Premier of the Province. He surveyed southern Fleurieu Peninsula and other areas.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Finniss gains a portion of Alexandrina Council including the localities of Goolwa, Goolwa Beach, Goolwa North, Goolwa South, Hayborough, Hindmarsh Island, Mount Observation and Mundoo Island, as well as parts of the localities of Currency Creek, Finniss, and Tooperang. Finniss loses a portion of Alexandrina Council (including the localities of Pages Flat, Yundi and part of the localities of Dingabledinga, Hope Forest, Kyeema and Wilunga Hill), all of Kangaroo Island Council, a portion of the City of Onkaparinga (including the suburb of Sellicks Beach), a portion of the District Council of Yankalilla (including the localities of Bald Hills, Cape Jervis, Carrickalinga, Deep Creek, Delamere, Hay Flat, Myponga, Myponga Beach, Normanville, Parawa, Rapid Bay, Second Valley, Silverton, Torrens Vale, Tunkalilla, Wattle Flat, Willow Creek, Wirrina Cove and Yankalilla, as well as parts of the localities of Inman Valley, Pages Flat, Sellicks Hill and Waitpinga).

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF 1.8 MB).

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1993
Dean C. Brown LIB 1993 - 2006
Michael R. Pengilly LIB 2006 - 2018
David Basham LIB 2018 -

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results
2010 State Election results