2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


Heysen is an outer metropolitan Hills seat to the south-east of Adelaide which includes both residential Adelaide Hills suburbs in its west and orchard and farming areas in its centre and east.


Approximately 1,074.3 km2


Heysen includes the localities of Aldgate, Ashbourne, Belvidere, Biggs Flat, Blackfellows Creek, Blewitt Springs, Bradbury, Bridgewater, Bugle Ranges, Bull Creek, Chapel Hill, Clarendon, Crafers, Dingabledinga, Dorset Vale, Echunga, Flaxley, Gemmells, Green Hills Range, Heathfield, Highland Valley, Hope Forest, Ironbank, Jupiter Creek, Kangarilla, Kuitpo, Kuitpo Colony, Kyeema, Longwood, Macclesfield, McHarg Creek, Meadows, Montarra, Mount Magnificent, Mylor, Paris Creek, Prospect Hill, Red Creek, Salem, Sandergrove, Scott Creek, Stirling, Strathalbyn, The Range, Willunga Hill, Willyaroo, Wistow, Woodchester and Yundi. It also includes portions of Bletchley, Hartley, Onkaparinga Hills, and Upper Sturt.


The district of Heysen has had two incarnations. Created at the 1969 redistribution, the district was abolished at the next redistribution in 1976. It was then revived again in 1983 and has been contested and represented again continuously since 1985.

Origin of the name

The district is named after Sir Hans Heysen OBE (1877-1968), the prominent South Australian landscape artist. Born in Hamburg, Germany, Heysen migrated to South Australia in 1884 at the age of seven. Heysen became a well-known painter of Australian landscapes, winning the Wynne Prize for landscape painting a record nine times. Heysen made his home in Hahndorf, which formerly formed part of the Heysen electoral district.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Heysen gains the suburb of Crafers and the locality of Blewitt Springs, as well as parts of the localities or suburbs of Clarendon, Hope Forest, Kyeema, Onkaparinga Hills, The Range and Wistow. Heysen loses the localities or suburbs of Crafers West, Hahndorf, Mount Observation, Nuraggi, Paechtown and Verdun, as well as parts of the localities or suburbs of Belair, Finniss, McLaren Flat, Mount Barker, Petwood and Tooperang.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF 1.8 MB).

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1970 (lapsed 1977-1985)
William P. McAnaney LCL/LIB 1970 - 1975
David C. Wotton LIB 1975 - 1977
David C. Wotton LIB 1985 - 2002
Isobel M. Redmond LIB 2002 - 2018
Josh Teague LIB 2018 -

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results
2010 State Election results