2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


A country district located north-east of the Adelaide metropolitan area, Schubert incorporates the wine-producing region of the Barossa Valley and a large part of the agricultural area of Light Regional Council.


Approximately 2017.8 km2


Schubert is made up of portions of the councils of Adelaide Hills, Adelaide Plains (formerly Mallala), Barossa, Light and Mid Murray, and includes - among others - the localities of Eden Valley, Nuriootpa, Lyndoch, Springton, Tanunda and Williamstown.


Schubert was created at the 1994 redistribution and contested and represented for the first time at the 1997 elections.

Origin of the name

The district is named after Max Schubert (1915-1994), a wine-maker of the renowned Grange Hermitage. Schubert was born near Angaston and lived in the Barossa Valley for most of his life. He won international acclaim for the South Australian wine industry with his pioneering methods.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Schubert gains a portion of Adelaide Plains Council including the localities of Fischer, Korunye and Redbanks, as well as the localities of Concordia, Gawler Belt, Gawler River, Kalbeeba, Kangaroo Flat, Kingsford, Lewiston, Magdala, Pinkerton Plains, Roseworthy, Templers, Ward Belt. Wasleys and Woolsheds. It also gains parts of Fisher, Greenock, Nuriootpa, Reeves Plains and Stockwell. It loses a portion of Mid Murray Council (including the localities of Cambrai, Langs Landing, Mannum, Palmer, Tungkillo and Walker Flat) as well as the localities of Forreston and Kersbrook and the remainder of the localities of Humbug Scrub and Truro.

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1997

Members since first represented in 1970
Ivan H. Venning LIB 1997 - 2014
Stephan Knoll LIB 2014 -

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results