2018-2022 electoral district map



Features of the district


This district, located in the north-east of metropolitan Adelaide, consists largely of outer residential suburbs pertaining to the cities of Salisbury and Tea Tree Gully.


Approximately 21 km2


Wright includes the suburbs of Brahma Lodge, Gulfview Heights, Modbury Heights, Redwood Park, Salisbury South and Wynn Vale. It also includes parts of the suburbs of Salisbury East and Surrey Downs.


This district was created at the 1991 redistribution and first contested and represented at the 1993 election.

Origin of the name

The district is named after Edmund Wright (1824-1888), an esteemed architect and Mayor of Adelaide in 1859. Wright designed many well-known buildings, including Adelaide Town Hall, the General Post Office and the Bank of South Australia on King William Street (now known as Edmund Wright House). Wright is recognised as Adelaide's most eminent 19th-century architect, influencing the classical revival style of architecture in the city. He was also one of the designers of Parliament House in Melbourne.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Wright gains the suburbs of Brahma Lodge, Modbury Heights and Salisbury South, and parts of the suburbs of Gulfview Heights, Redwood Park, Surrey Downs and Wynn Vale. Wright loses parts of the suburbs of Golden Grove, Greenwith and Salisbury East.

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1993
Edward (Scott) Ashenden LIB 1993 - 1997
Edward (Scott) Ashenden ALP 1997 - 2018
Blair Boyer ALP 2018 -

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results