City of Adelaide - Central Ward

Councillor (1 vacancy)
In May 2020 Electoral Commission SA conducted an election to fill a vacancy for Councillor for the City of Adelaide – Central Ward. The election was required following the resignation of a member of the Council, Mr Houssam Abiad.
Ballot paper draw
Daily Returns
Count Summary
First preference votes
Distribution of preferences

The key dates for this supplementary election were:

Roll close 5pm, Friday 28 February 2020
Opening of nominations Thursday 26 March 2020
Nominations close 12 noon, Thursday 9 April 2020
Dispatch of ballot material to electors Tuesday 21 April 2020 to Monday 27 April 2020
Close of voting (Polling Day) 12 noon, Monday 11 May 2020
Scrutiny and count From 9am, Wednesday 13 May 2020
Click to view a map of City of Adelaide Central Ward
Ballot Paper Draw
The draw for ballot paper order for the City of Adelaide Central Ward supplementary election was live streamed at 4pm on Thursday 9 April.
A recording of the ballot paper draw is available on ECSA’s YouTube channel.
At the close of nominations at 12 noon on Thursday 9 April 2020, a total of 8 nominations were accepted for the supplementary election. The candidates' names in the order they appeared on the ballot paper were:


CHAO, Wayne


LEWIS, Gareth

KHAN, Doha

PAINE, Nathan


WYRA, Malwina

Profiles of each of these candidates are available by clicking their names above.
Daily Returns

Adelaide Central

Count Summary
Enrolled voters:  11689
Envelopes returned:  2193
Envelopes accepted:  2028
Envelopes  rejected:  165
Ballot papers not returned in envelope:  2
Voter participation: 2193 (18.76% of the total enrolment)
Formal votes:  2011
Informal votes:  15
Quota:  1006
First preference votes
Below are the first preference votes received by the candidates in the order they appeared on the ballot paper. Percentages have been rounded to two decimal places.
Candidate First pref. votes Percentage 
WHITING, Stuart 146 7.26%
CHAO, Wayne 406 20.19%
MACKIE, Greg 568  28.24%
LEWIS, Gareth 166  8.25%
KHAN, Doha 140  6.96%
PAINE, Nathan 337  16.76%
GITSHAM, Darren 152  7.56%
WYRA, Malwina 96  4.77%
Distribution of preferences
After the distribution of preferences Greg MACKIE obtained 931 votes and was elected under quota.
To view the distribution of votes refer to the Scrutiny Report (XLS 100 kB).

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact