District Council of Mount Remarkable - Telowie Ward

Councillor (1 vacancy)
Due to the resignation of a member of the Council, a supplementary election is necessary to fill the vacancy of Councillor for Telowie Ward.
LivestreamLivestream Icon

Live Ballot Paper Draw took place at 4pm, Friday 12 June 2020 

Play a recording of the Video 

Roll close 5pm, Thursday 30 April 2020
Opening of nominations Friday 29 May 2020
Nominations close 12 noon, Friday 12 June 2020
Dispatch of ballot material to electors Tuesday 23 June 2020 to Monday 29 June 2020
Close of voting (Polling Day) 12 noon, Monday 13 July 2020
Scrutiny and count 9am, Wednesday 15 July 2020
Click to view a map of the Telowie Ward
Close of roll
The voters roll for this supplementary election closed at 5pm on Thursday 30 April 2020.
At the close of nominations at 12 noon on Friday 12 June 2020, a total of two nominations were received and accepted for the supplementary election. In accordance with the Local Government (Elections) Act 1999, a draw was held after the close of nominations to determine the order in which names of candidates would appear on the ballot paper and the result of the draw was as follows: 
 Profiles of each of these candidates are available by clicking their names above.
Daily Returns
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic ECSA have implemented several measures to minimise risk to staff. As a result, there will be a short delay with publication of returned ballot material statistics. Statistics will be publicised approximately 1 day after they are received by ECSA.
Mail out of voting material
Voting material will be mailed to electors between Tuesday 23 June 2020 and Monday 29 June 2020. To be counted, ballot papers must be completed and returned no later than 12 noon, Monday 13 July 2020.
Here are your options to make sure you get it back to us in time:
By post
If you choose to post it back please consider Australia Post delivery times. We recommend you post it immediately.
Drop it in the ballot box at Council
Rather than post it, you can drop your completed ballot envelope in the ballot box at the Council office at 3 Stuart Street, Melrose during office hours from Thursday 25 June to 12 noon, Monday 13 July.
Drop it in the ballot box at Australia Post
Ballot boxes will also be located at Australia Post outlets at 13 High Street, Port Germein and 31-33 High Street, Wirrabara Monday to Friday 9am-5pm from Monday 6 July to 12 noon, Monday 13 July. 
Election results
The scrutiny and count of ballot papers will be conducted from 9am on Wednesday 15 July at the Electoral Commission SA, Level 6, 60 Light Square, Adelaide.
Provisional results will be announced on 15 July following the conclusion of the count.
To appoint a scrutineer, you must complete the approved form, and hand it to the Deputy Returning Officer or Electoral Officer in charge of the proceedings at the scrutiny and count.
Note that:
  • a candidate may appoint one or more scrutineers, however only two may be present at the same time during the counting of votes
  • a candidate in an election for the council (including a candidate who has already been declared elected) is not eligible for appointment as a scrutineer.

LG14 Scrutineers Brochure (PDF 626 kB)
LG15 Scrutineer Authority Form (PDF 544 kB)
LG9 Legislative Framework (electoral material and illegal practices – PDF 250kb)


LG-20 Candidate Handbook (PDF 1.8 MB)

Information in other languages
Information about how to vote at council elections is available in 21 languages:





Thöŋ Jiäŋ
















Tiếng Việt

If your language is not listed here, or if you would like more information, please call us through an interpreter. 

Phone the Translating and Interpreting Services on 131 450 and ask them to them contact Electoral Commission SA on 1300 655 232. This is a free service.

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact