State elections

State elections occur every four years to elect members of South Australia’s House of Assembly and Legislative Council. The next state election will be held in March 2022. Voting will take place between 7 and 19 March 2022.

You can prepare for the upcoming state election:

  • See our enrolment section for instructions on enrolling, checking your details, and changing your details.
  • See our voting section for information about voting at state elections. Voting is compulsory at state elections.
  • See our electoral boundaries section if you would like to learn more about your electoral district.
  • See our Past state election results page for previous election reports and statistics.

In order for a state election or a by-election to be held, a writ must be issued first.


A by-election is held when a seat in the House of Assembly of the South Australian Parliament becomes vacant. A by-election can occur at any time, so it is important to keep your name and address up to date on the electoral roll.

If a by-election is held in the electoral district in which you are enrolled, it is compulsory to vote.

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact