2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


This district is located to the east of the City of Adelaide and is made up of the residential suburbs leading to the foot of the Adelaide Hills. The River Torrens/Karrawirra Parri makes up its northern border.


Approximately 15.65 km2


Hartley includes the suburbs of Campbelltown, Hectorville, Magill, Newton, Paradise and Tranmere.


Hartley was created at the electoral redistribution of 1976 and was first contested at the 1977 State Election.

Origin of the name

Hartley takes its name after John Anderson Hartley (1844 – 1896) who was an educationalist and had a significant impact on the South Australian education system. He was appointed Headmaster of Prince Alfred College and to the Central Board of Education in 1871, President of the Council of Education in 1875, Inspector-General of Schools in 1878 and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Adelaide from 1893 – 1896.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Hartley gains the suburb of Newton and the remainder of the suburb of Paradise. Harley loses the suburbs of Auldana, Felixstow, Glynde, Kensington Gardens and Rosslyn Park, and the remainder of the suburb of Payneham.

For full details see 2016 Report of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (PDF 1.8 MB).

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1977
James D. (Des) Corcoran ALP 1977 – 1982
Terence R. Groom ALP 1982 – 1993
Giuseppe (Joe) Scalzi LIB 1993 – 2006
Grace Portolesi ALP 2006 – 2014
Vincent Tarzia LIB 2014 –

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results
2010 State Election results