2018-2022 electoral district map


Features of the district


This district located to the north-east of the City of Adelaide consists largely of residential suburbs. Its southern boundary is defined by the River Torrens / Karrawirra Parri.


Approximately 16.97 km2


Torrens includes the suburbs of Dernancourt, Gilles Plains, Greenacres, Hampstead Gardens, Hillcrest, Holden Hill, Klemzig, Manningham, Oakden, Vale Park and Windsor Gardens.


The district of Taylor was created at the 1991 boundary redistribution and was represented for the first time in 1993.

Origin of the name

The district is named after Sir Robert Richard Torrens GCMG (1814 - 1884), a former premier of South Australia and the founder of the Torrens land title land registration system. Torrens migrated to Adelaide from Ireland in 1839. He was at various times Collector of Customs, Legislative Councillor (1851), Treasurer, and Premier and was appointed as the first Registrar General. He introduced the Real Property Act (the Torrens-title system of land registration) that was adopted by other colonies and eventually many countries throughout the world.

Key boundary changes compared to 2014

Torrens gains the suburbs of Manningham and Vale Park and the remainder of the suburbs of Dernancourt, Gilles Plains and Klemzig. It loses the suburbs of Lightsview and Northfield as well as portions of the suburbs of Hope Valley and Northfield.

Representation and results

Members since first represented in 1993
Patrick J. (Joe) Tiernan  LIB  1993 – 1994
Robyn K. Geraghty ALP 1994 – 2014
Dana Wortley ALP 2014 –
Members of historical electoral district of Torrens (during its existence, 1938 – 1985)
Shirley W. Jeffries LCL 1938 – 1944
Herbert L. Baldock ALP 1944 – 1947
Shirley W. Jeffries LCL 1947 – 1953
John L. Travers LCL 1956 – 1977
Michael M. Wilson LIB 1977 – 1985

Election results

2018 State Election results
2014 State Election results 
2010 State Election results