State electoral boundaries

In South Australia there is one Legislative Council district (the entire state) and forty-seven House of Assembly districts.

The number of electors in each House of Assembly electoral district grows at different rates due to differences in population and housing growth. This means that boundaries need to be reviewed or redistributed from time to time so all districts have a similar number of electors. The Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission (external link) is appointed under the Constitution Act 1934 (external link) to consider the boundaries after every election.

In 2016, the boundary review led to changes to the boundaries of 46 of the 47 House of Assembly electoral districts. These changes mean that around 400,000 or one third of all South Australian electors have moved district, and a further 81,000 electors have not moved but find themselves living in a different electoral district as a result of name changes to 7 districts. These changes took affect on polling day, 17 March 2018.

Electoral Commission SA is responsible for implementing the boundary changes. These changes include:

  • adjusting the electoral roll to reflect the new boundaries
  • updating records
  • preparing maps and materials.

Electoral Commission SA writes to all electors before each State election to advise them of the election and the electoral district they are enrolled in.

  Privacy   Accessibility   Sitemap   About us   Contact